On 29 May 2024 seven European universities gathered in Riga (Latvia) to sign a Memorandum of Cooperation in the field of culture. It was signed by the University of Latvia, Vilnius University (Lithuania), the University of Tartu (Estonia), the University of Opole (Poland), J. E. Purkyně University in Ústí nad Labem (the Czech Republic), Comenius University Bratislava (Slovakia) and Ludovika University of Public Service (Hungary).

“We are agreeing not just to cooperate closely in the field of culture, but also to organise conferences, artistic events and educational programmes. By committing to fostering cultural expression in our universities, we are saying “yes” to a more humane and peaceful world,” in his address to the partners of the Network and other invited guests said the host of the event, Professor Gundars Bērziņš, Rector of the University of Latvia.   

The Network will serve as a platform for promoting European culture and its integration into educational activities, a platform to share experiences in culture, arts, and educational spheres through innovative technologies. Currently, the Network is formed by seven universities, but it will be open to new members to widen culture mobility possibilities.